Our People


2019 Officers

Stephanie Batten, President, Merrill Lynch

Chip Futrell, Vice-President, North Carolina State University

Brent Flowers, Treasurer, Flowers Plantation

Joe Dlugos, Secretary & Marketing Chair, Barton College

Liz Uditis, Properties Chair, Community Leader

Buck Yelverton, Past-President, Community Leader

2019 Trustees

Dr. Rena Corbett, Barton College
Betsy Peters Rascoe, Design Dimension, Inc.
Omar Salazar, Rockinteriors
Dave Sheppard, Community Leader
Tripp Vaughan, Vaughan’s Jewelers

Ex-Officio Members:
Kathryn Ferrari Bethune, Executive Director

Dana Corson, City of Wilson

Committee Structure: Creating an Impact

Preservation of Wilson has an active Board of Trustees where all members agree to serve on at least one committee. Committee members do not need to be a member of the Board of Trustees. We encourage individuals to get involved in an area they find the greatest interest. Allowing non-board members to work on committees is an excellent way to retain interested volunteers during the lapse period if they have served six years, our term limit. With a lapse of one year, a person may be reappointed.

Finance – To promote Preservation of Wilson’s financial security while being wise stewards of the funds so generously donated to this organization by its contributors.

Brent Flowers, Chair
Dr. Rena Corbett
Chip Futrell
Open Position, Resource Development Chair

Properties – The Properties Chair will oversee the Community Reinvestment Committee and the Properties SuperCommittee.

Liz Uditis, Chair

Community Reinvestment Committee – To oversee the Visual Improvement Matching Grants Program and seek opportunities to enhance the visual appeal of the historic districts. The committee works in the field and will be eyeing any endangered properties and work with the Preservation of Wilson properties which have Protective Covenants Deed Restrictions.
Three members will be announced.

The Properties SuperCommittee – To handle all aspects of the Revolving Fund Properties. This SuperCommittee is divided into three committees with three members each. Committee members to be announced.

Property Acquisition Committee

Property Stabilization Committee

Property Disposition Committee

Visioning – The Visioning Committee is on sabbatical in 2019. Their work to help develop a revitalization program which promotes economic development while creating safe and aesthetically pleasing neighborhoods will be overseen by the Community Reinvestment Committee. The Marketing Committee will oversee the promotion of the Known Inventory of Oliver Nestus Freeman. The Visioning Committee will reconvene under the direction of the Executive Committee as it is needed to recommend short and long term goals and seeks to find solutions to issues that create roadblocks in development. 

Marketing & Art –  To promote interest locally, regionally and nationally using the website, social media, media opportunities and other advertising methods.  We market Historic Downtown Wilson as a place to call home focusing on the properties we offer and those offered by local realtors. We look for creative ways to spread the word that Wilson has charming and affordable historic  homes, an uncomplicated lifestyle, an ideal location, two colleges, the state’s fastest fiber-optic Internet connections available in every home, tree-lined neighborhoods, five historic districts, a vibrant arts community and a roster of companies the envy to many metropolitan areas.  The Art Committee oversees the planning for the annual Art Show held at the Spring Garden Party each year, the Annual Garden Party and the Spring Letter Fest.

Joe Dlugos, Marketing Chair
Hal Tarleton
Matt Shaw
Gary Smolen
Anne Joyner

Betsy Peters Rascoe, Art Co-Chair
Anne Joyner, Art Co-Chair

Bill Hamilton, 2019 Spring Garden Party Co-Chair
Margaret Clark McRae, 2019 Spring Garden Party Co-Chair

To be announced, 2019 Garden Party Hosts

Betsy Peters Rascoe, 2019 Art Co-Chair
Anne Joyner, 2019 Art Co-Chair

Dr. Rena Corbett, 2019 Spring Letter Fest Chair

Field Work – This group is reserved for helping in the field when needed. This includes helping with signage and assisting when a truck is needed during each year.

Randy Deans
Stan Corbett
Omar Salazar
Derek Andrews

Past Presidents Committee – The Past-Presidents hold an annual breakfast meeting with the current President and Executive Director.

Bobby Boykin
Garland Homes, Jr.
Perry Morrison
Dr. Frank L. Eagles
Buck Yelverton

Search Committee – Hiring Committee for a new Executive Director.

Chip Futrell
Garland Homes, Jr.
Betsy Peters Rascoe
Jenn Ferguson
Henry Walston
Betty Lou Walston
Liz Uditis

Thank you to our 2018 Preservation Team. We greatly appreciate your time and service to grow the preservation mission in Wilson County.

Derek Andrews
Drew Barker
Katy Barker
Sally Barnes
Katie Barrett
Stephanie Batten
Catherine Batten
Kathy Berni
Kathy Bethune
John Bethune
Jim Boggs
Bobby Boykin
Ann Brice
Robert Bryant
Agnes Cherry
Stan Corbett
Rena Corbett
Dana Corson
Jerome De Perlinghi
Rosa De Perlinghi
Randy Deans
Lacey Dlugos
Joe Dlugos
Dot Eagles
Frank Eagles
Leslie Flowers
Brent Flowers
Don Franks
Gloria Freeman
Chip Futrell
Rob Gauthier
Karen Gliarmis
Scott Gordon
Bill Hamilton
Sharyn Hardister
Robb Hignite
Garland Homes, Jr.
ISCO Landscaping
Anne Joyner
Ches Joyner
Terry Klein
Ginny Lassiter
Vernon Mason
Jim McNamara
Margaret McRae
Perry Morrison, Jr.
Hunter Rascoe
Betsy Rascoe
Charles Robl lll
Ellen Russell
Sargent Russell
Betsy Russell
Omar Salazar
Matt Shaw
Susan Sheppard
Dave Sheppard
Gary Smolen
Holmes Smoot
Gaynell Stallings
Rev. Marty Stebbins
Andy Summerlin
Hal Tarleton
Ginny Tarleton
Liz Uditis
Joe Uditis
Tripp Vaughan
Anna Belle Vaughan
Stuart Walston
Starlette Walston
Betty Lou Walston
Buck Yelverton

Comments are closed.